## Special Report

## **Five CoB Faculty Tenured in 2011**

Five of USM's b-school faculty received tenure from the Mississippi IHL during that governing body's May-2011 meeting. These five CoBers join 35 other USM faculty in being awarded tenure by the IHL. The five CoB faculty are:

- Mary Anderson, Accounting
- Cherylynn Becker, Management
- Michael Dugan, Accounting
- Leisa Flynn, Marketing
- Francis Laatsch, Finance

Becker was hired by former CoB dean Harold Doty, now the dean at the University of Texas-Tyler. Becker came to USM as the chair of tourism management, though her tenure as chair of that department was rocked by scandals. One of these is the overall decline of that program, as noted by former USM provost Jay Grimes in his Feb-2007 letter to Doty. The most controversial episode involving Becker, however, has to be when she verbally assaulted, in the presence of several CoB faculty, the tourism management secretary. Becker's egregious behavior was documented and filed with USM's human resources department. Despite these actions, Doty continued to employ Becker as his tourism management chair.

The final two names on the list above are currently departmental chairs in the CoB. Flynn is the most recent addition, having been brought to the CoB in Jan-2010 by dean Lance Nail. Dugan, Nail's former accounting professor, is also relatively new to the CoB. Finally, Anderson is a member of the Morgan family of USM affiliates. Her brother, Joe Morgan, was recently replaced as USM's chief financial officer. That episode continues to generate discussion and speculation.